The Lighthouse - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Loading...
  • Published on:  Friday, October 25, 2019
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video. Receive a 2 month free trial by going to https://skl.sh/chrisstuckmann6

    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Lighthouse, starring Robert Pattinson, Willem Dafoe, Valeriia Karaman. Directed by Robert Eggers.
Loading...

Comment

  • Carl Ginland
    Carl Ginland  14 minutes ago

    first time i saw a trailer about this, just the black and white style (i don't know why) and the fact Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson were in it made me think it could be an A+

  • Barry Brandon
    Barry Brandon  48 minutes ago

    Thank god
    I'm not alone in this movie. I laughed
    Out load and was creeped out at times, good stuff.

  • Tiny Gypsy
    Tiny Gypsy  2 hours ago

    Is there a way to watch this movie? Has it been in theatres already? I can’t find it on Netflix or prime I’m just confused lol.

  • Mainely Movies
    Mainely Movies  yesterday

    There are so many possible ways to interpret this movie - both the plot itself and the themes. Combine that with the cinematography, sound design, and all those "goddam fahts" and you've got one unique film.

  • Uche Okeke
    Uche Okeke  2 days ago

    Anybody know where I can get subtitles for this movie? It will be much appreciated. I can't understand a damn thing they're saying!

  • Al Patus
    Al Patus  3 days ago

    For the first time I don’t agree with Chris. This film is a no for me. Yes, they have great performance and great shot. But the plot, no there isn’t one. I nearly lie down on the chair in the theater

  • TheJhong47
    TheJhong47  4 days ago

    Can you review Sideways please.... A fan from the Philippines.

  • hachimaki
    hachimaki  4 days ago

    Ok, so I have a theory about the movie. Spoilers ahead
    I just noticed on A24's website that they have a poster for the movie featuring the seagull that Winslow kills and it only has one eye, just like the head of Wake's previous assistant that shows up in the crab cage later on. And since Wake mentions earlier on in the movie that it is believed to be bad luck to kill a seagull because it contains the dead soul of another seaman I believe that particular seagull must've been possessed by Wake's previous assistant and that he was trying to warn him or scare him away so that he wouldn't get killed by Wake like he was.
    Might be wrong about this, but hey, it's a pretty cool theory at least.

  • Splashpage
    Splashpage  4 days ago

    Lighthouse can be so diffrent from most films because its so low budget.

  • K A F F E K A S K I

    🤷‍♂️ The movie was fine. A bit too ”artsy fartsy” for my taste. Great actors, visuals and so on - but it didn’t live up to my expectations. The symbolism wasn’t that deep... The others in the theater didn’t seem too crazy about the movie either (this theater only shows smaller award winning movies). One of them said ”So... that was that.” Maybe this is a more creative piece for someone outside of Europe 😂 I dunno, 3/5 for me. But I do understand why people love it. And that’s ok by me!

  • Neil Tomlinson
    Neil Tomlinson  5 days ago

    Going to see this tonight. So excited. 😜

  • Quincy Croft
    Quincy Croft  6 days ago

    You're getting kinda chubby there Chris.

  • T'Challa
    T'Challa  6 days ago

    I felt attacked when I was watching the film. I relate a lot with the Robert’s character.

  • Jan Neuburger
    Jan Neuburger  7 days ago

    it finally came out in Austria and holy shit! After the movie ended everyone in the theatre sat there for 5 minutes. quietly. no one said a single word. it was surreal

  • Soviet George
    Soviet George  7 days ago +1

    Still looks immensely pretentious, no matter what you say.

  • JM JM
    JM JM  7 days ago +1

    I saw it today on thanksgiving...i left not knowing what to feel...😲.
    I also the ingles language spoken..(accent) It Was hard to understand.. I enjoyed the way it was film... Black and white..great photography...

  • PixelRelatedismyname
    PixelRelatedismyname  7 days ago +1

    The problem i had with this movie has less to do with the movie and more to do with the fact that it is essentially Bergman's Persona but with sailors instead.
    The plot isnt 1:1 but i remember part way through the movie realizing "Oh... This is just a sailor's remake of Persona". It made it a lot harder to enjoy when figuring out what story beats and moments it would aim for after having seen that movie first. I know that no movie is original, but i guess because Persona was already considered a hugely influential art film it's hard for me to not compare it to that film. Heck, Persona was also made to be black and white in an age of color film.

  • Nick Carlson
    Nick Carlson  7 days ago

    How long has it been since Chris gave an A+? Five years? Two months? Help me to recollect...

  • The ManHammerAR15

    Legend has it that Robert Eggers Busted over 100 🥜's during Production of this Film. This guy must really love himself 🤣

  • Contrapunctus XV
    Contrapunctus XV  7 days ago +26

    Why this movie is worth an Oscar:

    Thomas Wake: Yer fond of me lobster aint' ye? I seen it - yer fond of me lobster! Say it! Say it. Say it!

    Ephraim Winslow: I don't have to say nothin'.

    Thomas Wake: Damn ye! Let Neptune strike ye dead Winslow! HAAARK!

    Thomas Wake: Hark Triton, hark! Bellow, bid our father the Sea King rise from the depths full foul in his fury! Black waves teeming with salt foam to smother this young mouth with pungent slime, to choke ye, engorging your organs til' ye turn blue and bloated with bilge and brine and can scream no more - only when he, crowned in cockle shells with slitherin' tentacle tail and steaming beard take up his fell be-finned arm, his coral-tine trident screeches banshee-like in the tempest and plunges right through yer gullet, bursting ye - a bulging bladder no more, but a blasted bloody film now and nothing for the harpies and the souls of dead sailors to peck and claw and feed upon only to be lapped up and swallowed by the infinite waters of the Dread Emperor himself - forgotten to any man, to any time, forgotten to any god or devil, forgotten even to the sea, for any stuff for part of Winslow, even any scantling of your soul is Winslow no more, but is now itself the sea!

    Ephraim Winslow: Alright, have it your way. I like your cookin'.