The Dead Don't Die - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Loading...
  • Published on:  Friday, June 14, 2019
  • Chris Stuckmann reviews The Dead Don't Die, starring Bill Murray, Adam Driver, Tilda Swinton, Chloë Sevigny, Steve Buscemi, Danny Glover, Caleb Landry Jones, Iggy Pop, Selena Gomez, Tom Waits. Directed by Jim Jarmusch.
Loading...

Comment

  • Ray Marquez
    Ray Marquez  3 days ago +2

    The Dead Don't Die is a metamodernist film.

  • Cane
    Cane  4 days ago

    this movie was awkward as hell to me. it was like watching a big inside joke cause none of it was that funny to me. only part i laughed at was the morgue scene with Tilda. and that wasnt that funny was more of a ha where did that sword come from.

  • Fraser Bailey
    Fraser Bailey  5 days ago

    This was the worst movie I've ever seen

  • bubsdennis
    bubsdennis  6 days ago

    Please NEVER review ANY Taranblino movies!!!!! Thank you.

  • sniperhat1
    sniperhat1  7 days ago

    It did end badly. My wife and i just looked at each other when the credits rolled.

  • sniperhat1
    sniperhat1  7 days ago

    Even the bonuses sucked. Alot of unanswered questions. Alot of going nowhere.

  • Ted K
    Ted K  7 days ago

    Don't curse so much

  • Jon Doe
    Jon Doe  14 days ago

    I think this movie had alot inside jokes the kids the girls looked like boys and the boy looked like a girl and they ran into the closet then they ran out of the closet I don't know if they were trying to say something I think this movie was also created for people that didn't get in zombieland 2 or bill Murray wanted to get in zombieland 2

  • 李立峰
    李立峰  14 days ago

    I would say the final message is well conveyed. When you have obsession (inside you head), you are "dead" (in the sense "The Dead Don't Die").
    And yeah, an ending should be given to the escaped kids. But could we interpret it as "there's still hope for some"?
    It could worth more than a C+ considering that it got Buddha linked to extraterrestrial livings 😉

  • fernando rivera
    fernando rivera  14 days ago

    Came out of the movie not knowing WTF happened i never seen Jim's movie before so starting with this one wasn't such a good idea

  • Zombiie Yuu
    Zombiie Yuu  14 days ago

    I think the whole movie its a big Joke about how theres a lot of problems and important things that we just dont pay attention and instead of that we are absorbed by consumism that much that we can sit on a cinema and watch a bad movie or every random thing just because there are big names on screen (tilda, bill etc) also the kids in the movie that flee the prison could be a reference to all the young people that the only thing they do is watch the problems but just hiding from them.

    But idk lol just a theory

  • Ryulin18
    Ryulin18  14 days ago

    I watched this film and had to find a review to work out if I actually watched the right film. Felt like a joke on audiences I didn't get, or they started to make a film and ran out of something so they cobbled together a film in 3 days.

  • tacomansfriend123
    tacomansfriend123  21 days ago

    Wait it was about the environment? I thought the whole joke and point.of the movie was adam driver saying "this is going to end badly" and it just had like a very poorly written end and.... I guess it was a funny joke and it was supposed to make me laugh but..... Yeah how about that tilda swenton scene

  • rudeboymon
    rudeboymon  21 days ago

    Bill murray and norm McDonald are the most annoying pretentious comedians ever. Never laughed at a single joke from either of them

  • Puspazee Puspa
    Puspazee Puspa  21 days ago

    A music video (like those adverts on MTV?) it doesn't need to make sense - a possible clue - that "theme song" (and its lyrics!) is played ...:) just a wild guess from the review. Enjoyed this review!

  • Nicholas Brown
    Nicholas Brown  28 days ago

    I loved this movie and I actually thought the polar fracking bit was almost to the point of self parody that I was laughing my ass off about the global warming zombies. But I do agree if you weren't in the right mood (I was with close friends who love shit like this) it was pretty odd to throw the message in there and that thing with the kids was super weird, I just didn't get it and it didn't make me laugh either. And I was really hoping we'd get to see Selena Gomez as a zombie.

  • Spetznaz
    Spetznaz  28 days ago

    This movie was so bad, but so bad, but so incredible bad and boring, so freaking boring, really boring and bad

  • Dan Fors
    Dan Fors  28 days ago

    Felt like a light, shallow, less complicated version of Twin Peaks season 3. Lot's of meta stuff, slow pace, weird atmosphere and characters acting unnaturally calm and quiet.

  • Atharv Chaudhary
    Atharv Chaudhary  28 days ago

    fuck this movie i dont known what they even try to do
    wasted my 2 hrs

  • Dav Mol
    Dav Mol  a months ago

    Hey Chris, big fan. I havent seen this movie so cant give my own input but just out of curiosity, you're not a fan of zombie movies are you? I dont see any reviews of the Romero Dead films or anything on your channel (forgive me if I missed something). Do you like zombie films in general?