Doctor Sleep - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Loading...
  • Published on:  Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Go to https://expressvpn.com/chrisstuckmann and find out how you can get 3 months free. Thanks to ExpressVPN for sponsoring this video.

    Chris Stuckmann reviews Doctor Sleep, starring Ewan McGregor, Rebecca Ferguson, Jacob Tremblay, Zahn McClarnon, Bruce Greenwood, Carel Struycken, Emiky Alyn Lind. Directed by Mike Flanagan.
Loading...

Comment

  • silver screen productions

    I loved doctor sleep movie it was easily as good as the shining in my opinion.

  • Fizz my Nizz Bizz
    Fizz my Nizz Bizz  14 hours ago

    Loved it

  • Tony Starks
    Tony Starks  18 hours ago +1

    A pathetic attempt at a sequel... No artistic vision... Absolute garbage!

  • Jonathan Crane
    Jonathan Crane  yesterday

    The soy is strong in this one....

  • Dylan Ginther
    Dylan Ginther  yesterday

    Was pretty good for sure

  • Tigre Blanco
    Tigre Blanco  yesterday

    'The Shiners'

  • Jeremy Kimble
    Jeremy Kimble  2 days ago

    I’m watching naruto on a binge currently and I couldn’t stop watching the psychic battles in this like a fight in naruto. Abra will be the next Hokage!!!!!

  • Keeli Siyaka
    Keeli Siyaka  2 days ago

    I haven't seen every movie to come out yet, but I feel pretty confident in saying this was may favorite of the year!

  • brandon God mode
    brandon God mode  3 days ago +1

    The fact that more people didn’t watch this 🤦🏽‍♂️ movie

  • TrillYung Gaming
    TrillYung Gaming  3 days ago

    I thought this movie was great! Nothing else to say...

  • Eyal Israel
    Eyal Israel  3 days ago

    Shitty movie

  • Mainely Movies
    Mainely Movies  3 days ago

    Nice review, Sean! I love The Shining and really enjoyed this one as well. Definitely agree with you about how fleshed out the villains are. That's something that's very refreshing to see in a horror film and definitely a carry-over from King's writing style.

  • Mark Anthony Leo
    Mark Anthony Leo  3 days ago

    I finally watched the sequel to "The Shinning"
    Doctor Sleep was definitely an awesome movie & worthy sequel.

  • Shaun Morgan
    Shaun Morgan  3 days ago

    Really hated this film I went sleep

  • Артём М.
    Артём М.  3 days ago

    9:40 the real horror is always a thriller IMHO. its not a fucking jumpscares.

  • timothy790110
    timothy790110  3 days ago

    Well, that was a disappointment. Abra was miscast. Mcgregor was great. Dialogue was terrible terrible king dialogue as usual.

  • Dáithí Ó Pléimeann

    The film was utter drab boring rubbish just as the very much overrated "The Shinning," was.. This film wasn't scary at all

  • grateful
    grateful  3 days ago

    I watched Dr Sleep based on this review, because I typically agree with Stuckmann. After watching the film, I felt like I'd watched 'Stephen King Does A Lifetime Movie,' and it was the most overproduced Lifetime movie ever made. It wasn't explicitly terrible, but it isn't in the company of Kubrick's Shining, and it isn't even close. It's not the worst Stephen King adaptation, and not by a long shot. I'd estimate there are at least a half dozen or more mullet movies in the Stephen King catalog that are worse than Dr. Sleep. Rebecca Ferguson and Emily Alyn Lind made it worthwhile for me. I'll never know if Ewan McGregor was the most awful choice for Danny Torrance, but I'll just say that I really didn't find him to fit the role in any sense.


    For what it's worth, I didn't enjoy the book much, either. Standout performance was Rose The Hat, in the book and the film. I felt like this character and The True Knot should have had their own story, instead of being grafted onto The Shining. King had a good idea, and instead of working it to get it somewhere on it's own merit, he went the lazy route and reached into the vault.

  • Elizabeth Phillips

    I han't seen this film yet, but I do agree with you what for me true horror is in my humble opinion all those movies with a ton of jump scares and blood /Guts. I am looking forward to seeing it Thank You from someone who is sick of the stock horrpr movies that rely on the shock, gore, and the people doing stupid stuff like going into the woods alone after their friends did and never came back.

  • Iced Clips
    Iced Clips  3 days ago

    I thought this movie was childish, probably could have got away with being rated pg-13 if it wasn't for the gunfight scene. Feels like a super hero movie they tried to make scary, kinda has the vibe of Casper the Friendly Ghost. Interesting concept but executed poorly.