Tesla Model 3 Review - 6 Months Later

Share
Embed
  • Loading...
  • Published on:  Monday, December 17, 2018
  • The best features of the Model 3 after 6 months of ownership, how well the car has held up, issues we've had with the Model 3, and improvements Tesla can make to future versions of the car.

    Decided you're getting a Tesla? Make sure you take advantage of Tesla's referral program to get yourself 1,000 miles of free supercharging credits. Feel free to use our referral code: https://ts.la/josh95038

    Music:

    Ticker by Silent Partner

    Candlepower by Chris Zabriskie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/)
    Source: http://chriszabriskie.com/divider/
    Artist: http://chriszabriskie.com/

    Weirder Stuff by Geographer
Loading...

Comment

  • 6 Months Later Reviews
    6 Months Later Reviews  9 months ago +53

    If you watched the video and decided you want in on some Tesla goodness, make sure to get yourself 1,000 miles of free supercharging credits. Use a referral code like mine: https://ts.la/josh95038 or your friend’s, neighbors’, or from whoever. Just make sure you take advantage of these referral codes floating around.

  • SH HS
    SH HS  yesterday

    Bla.. bla.. bla... Price is to high..

  • wide awake
    wide awake  2 days ago

    Tosh Bosch......You are right up his trousers kissing Meelong Busch's ass......You cissyboy.

  • OneEyeDrone
    OneEyeDrone  4 days ago

    The road trip factor sucks but should get better over time, right now one of my typical road trips would take 2-3 fuel stops, about 8-10 tesla stops given moderate traffic. But once they break the 1000km barrier on the consumer models the range issue will basically be resolved.


    The teslas still feel very cheap inside for the price tag (model 3), the other models are better in the sector, but we all know the bulk of the cost goes into R/D, the batteries, and motors. That being said Im sure in the near future a lot of us will make the switch to electric cars for commuting purposes at least.

  • Adrian Janecki
    Adrian Janecki  4 days ago

    Affordable my arse.

  • Andrew Mtz
    Andrew Mtz  5 days ago

    Vegan leather, please... what an oxymoron. Does your ass really care what the animal that ‘donated’ its skin ate?
    A more benign politically correct BS, but still BS. Marketing can be so full of hyperbole

  • Jack Ryder
    Jack Ryder  5 days ago

    Great and honest review.
    I heard car doesn't drive well in winter with winter tire. You thoughts on that please

  • 2012daffyduck
    2012daffyduck  6 days ago +5

    save 14 minutes of your time = he says "it's a good car"

  • Brian Smith
    Brian Smith  6 days ago

    I would miss the gas...why? BECAUASE CALIFORNIA just shut off the power grid to 800,000 customers to avoid wild fires and TESLA had to notify people to charge their cars because the power was going to be off for days....Electric cars will never replace fossil fuels until you can drive 12 - 15 hours continuously on single charge. Unfortunately, in Detroit, we are dependent on our vehicles because we have zero form of public transportation.

  • loren salazar
    loren salazar  7 days ago

    For a nice "affordable” $50k car , , ,
    shame they couldn't have thrown in an attractive grill (or front).

    Room for improvement in coming years for this fine car.

  • John C
    John C  7 days ago

    Audi E-Tron has a much better interior. I don’t like the empty interior. Vegan leather is fake leather then?

  • Kevin B
    Kevin B  7 days ago

    Dude, look away every now and then. Melting my brain. Or glasses, yes, get some glasses. Now, back to enjoying your vid, nice job.

  • Mingie Cao
    Mingie Cao  7 days ago

    I would say, the 3 most important things that needs constant improvement is battery life, safety, and price in a tesla model 3. As a driver, I dont need high end infotainment system to distract me from driving like videos and streaming. :D Good video tho, I wish to purchase a model 3 in the future.

  • ALVD
    ALVD  7 days ago

    For a $40K+ vehicle the issues he pointed out are unacceptable. I had never had a car in the past 20 years that would exhibit such problems in the first 6 months. Squeaky console armrest? Wipers rubbing against hood? An entire charging port had to be replaced? Damn. Also, am I the only one who felt the guy was reading text from a teleprompter?

  • bart sim
    bart sim  7 days ago

    Is 'vegan leather' polyurethane? If so, that's crap... How about a real leather version for those who want durability and know there was other uses for the rest of the cow so don't feel too bad eating their burger while sitting on their real leather seat.... I believe the choice is more about cutting cost than anything else... Also too many things on the tesla seem too cheaply made, that plug cover, how easy things are to scratch, etc. Beef up the car a bit, another $1k worth of improvements would go a long way...

  • Richard N
    Richard N  7 days ago

    No doubt that it's a great car, but there are several Cons:
    1) AutoPilot is actually dangerous as it brakes inappropriately when approaching and passing cars on your right (adjacent lane). This bug is known and is actually listed in the Manual (believe it or not)! Instead of addressing this and fixing it, Elon has added his second "Fart" feature, video games and NetFlix. Warped sense of priorities.
    2) Inability to turn on front camera as a safety and parking feature. Can only turn on the rear camera.
    3) The steering wheel is smaller, but the placement of the screen is so close that when driving in a "10 o'clock - 2:00 o'clock manner, your right hand blocks the view of the blind spot warning for cars on your left. 10 -2 is recommended by professionals and is widely considered safest.
    4) Since there is no warning light on the outside rear view mirrors, this makes blind spot traffic on your left even more dangerous. Actual mirror warnings are superior. Also, there is no audio warning like on most modern cars.
    5) The display will only show miles left or per cent of battery remaining instead of displaying BOTH simultaneously (like other EVs).
    6) The glass roof is popular, but there is no interior cover to block out the sun. Car gets extremely hot inside in Summer. All other cars with a moon or sun roof have a sliding interior roof cover.
    7) The front head restraints are stationary and not adjustable. If you do not drive with the seat almost straight up, the head restraints will not be effective. If you need to recline your front seat to account for a back problem or other issue, you are in danger from a rear end collision.
    8) No "Bird's Eye View."
    9) You have to actually step on the brake pedal to put the car in what is called "Hold." If the Hold is released or not even initiated, the car will roll free Backwards! Almost all modern cars have "Hill Assist." The Nissan Leaf will brake and hold automatically resulting in true one pedal driving. If you want a mode that will not roll backwards, you need to set "Creep" mode which will force you to hold your foot on the brake to keep it from moving forward on its own. Creep mode should be automatic (and always on) and only the Hold mode should be optional.
    10) The interior heating system is very poor; car is cold. The A/C is good.
    11) No heated steering wheel (even in the dual motor performance model that costs way over way $50,000.

  • chez421
    chez421  7 days ago

    I don't mind Tesla, but 'stunning' it is not, unless you think an iPad is stunning, the Alfa Romeo 8C is stunning, but a Tesla? Not so much.

  • Cristian Doicu
    Cristian Doicu  7 days ago

    To his money... can Elon find a designer to make something that doesn't look so cheap?

  • Nathan
    Nathan  7 days ago +1

    You sounds like antvenom

  • Alberto Esteban
    Alberto Esteban  7 days ago

    How much this car cost?