Stockholm Syndrome: Midsommar Review - Movie Podcast

Share
Embed
  • Loading...
  • Published on:  Saturday, July 13, 2019
  • Go to https://Upstart.com/FILMHAUS, to find out how low your Upstart rate is!Get started with the Hims complete hair kit for just $5 today at http://ForHims.com/FILMHAUSThis week the gang reviews Ari Aster's controversial new thriller "Midsommar " and tries to decide if it lives up to the legacy of "Hereditary". Plus, I could be wrong, but I think the term "pube pie" was mentioned at least once so you all have that to look forward to.Follow us on Twitter:http://twitter.com/adamkovichttp://twitter.com/jameswillemshttp://twitter.com/elysewillemshttps://twitter.com/Charalanahzardhttps://twitter.com/filmDstryrTshirts n stuff: https://store.roosterteeth.com/collec...
Loading...

Comment

  • Jagd Töpfer
    Jagd Töpfer  1 months ago +216

    I wouldn’t say Jordan Peele invented “social horror” at all. Horror has always had social undertones in it. George Romero is a clear example of this.

  • Trenton Boyett
    Trenton Boyett  1 months ago +326

    So when they put a pube in somebody's food it's a sign of love, but when I do it I get fired from McDonald's smh

  • Timothy Choi
    Timothy Choi  1 months ago +118

    I saw this film and its ending as a pretty succinct depiction of how cults operate, as well as how toxic relationships form.
    *spoilers
    Of course the film is a happy ending for Dani. People who are inducted into cults are not satisfied people who are happy with their lives. Cults target vulnerable and broken individuals and offer them something better. All the other characters in the film wouldn't make good cult members: Christian and Mark are committed to themselves, Josh is committed to his studies, and Connie and Simon are committed to each other. Dani is the most vulnerable one because she hasn't fully committed to anything, and thus, is the most susceptible to joining the cult. The ending makes the audience feel the same way Dani does. We can't help but feel a degree of satisfaction seeing the douchey boyfriend finally get his comeuppance, and the uplifting music and her smile directly conflict the horrors of what are happening onscreen. But at the same time, Dani is essentially throwing away one toxic relationship for another. In the same way Christian convinces Dani to suppress her emotions and "acclimate" to his needs for the good of their relationship, the cult convinces Dani to perform acts of violence and acclimate to their customs for the good of the "family". Remember that when the elders kill themselves on the cliff, Dani is by far the most disturbed within her group of friends, and yet by taking advantage of her vulnerability, the cult has convinced Dani to not only accept, but partake in these very same acts.

  • Ivan Last
    Ivan Last  1 months ago +110

    I think if you walk into this Midsommar wanting another Hereditary, you're gonna have a bad time. I liked this movie more than Hereditary. The pacing was phenomenal. It looked spectacular. The comedic parts were confusing and more so hilarious because of it. I'd argue this movie had no real climax, but it made up for it by always giving something great every 15 to 20 minutes. I loved the story.

  • Liam Hagen
    Liam Hagen  1 months ago +20

    My main takeaway after this was: “Hereditary = good, Midsommar = not Hereditary”. Nice

  • A Friendly Hobo
    A Friendly Hobo  1 months ago +162

    We finally get the confirmation of Elyse and James being brother & Sister.

  • Hungry Epic Boys
    Hungry Epic Boys  1 months ago +149

    Watch his film school thesis project, he’s never really been overtly into horror, just creepy explorations of different personal subjects

  • Ben Schrader
    Ben Schrader  1 months ago +84

    Midsommar to me felt like a drama film with horror elements scattered about. I felt genuine satisfaction for the main character at the end, but I can understand how people can feel unfulfilled if they went in expecting a full on horror film.

  • Romy Valentina
    Romy Valentina  1 months ago +15

    I love how they're warning people about the nudity... Because that's what's graphic in this movie... The nudity.
    Face palm

  • SicParvisMagna
    SicParvisMagna  1 months ago +44

    Poor Rahul nobody even asked him about how he felt about the movie.

  • cheese pizza
    cheese pizza  1 months ago +22

    I would so watch this director's take on the hunchback of notre dame. That would be so weird, probably gorgeous, and twisted.

  • San il Erag
    San il Erag  1 months ago +36

    I enjoyed Midsommar more than Hereditary. I'm glad Ari Aster didn't make the same film, which was my fear going into the theater

  • Super Man
    Super Man  yesterday

    I feel like you shouldn't compare this to hereditary because the films are too different. The only things they have in common is it's about grief and Ari Aster directed them

  • rohanpuglife
    rohanpuglife  1 months ago +23

    This is not supposed to be Hereditary or anything close to it. This movie explores cults, what it means to have a "family", and relationships. Midsommar to me was a better and more well-rounded movie than Hereditary.

  • Jose Salinas
    Jose Salinas  1 months ago +52

    I thought this movie was awesome some of the shots are so fucking beautiful and the colors and lighting was on point .

  • Al Run
    Al Run  1 months ago +9

    Everytime they mentioned torbjorn I giggled thinking of the overwatch character in that scene

  • Holy
    Holy  1 months ago +7

    I disagree with pretty much all of their thoughts, but you know what, that’s ok. Great review lads

  • NikSG94
    NikSG94  1 months ago +6

    I thought y'all was points were interesting. I thought of it as more of a commentary about how people inside a relationships are innately flawed in ways that we tend to discover as time goes on and what makes a relationship last or break is whether or not we view the flaws as worth our time and effort. These flaws can be outwardly destructive or inwardly, just like between the main couple. Dani is obviously inwardly destructive, being pretty critical of herself and her willingness to stand up for herself, anxiety ridden and initially reliant on others, like her friends and boyfriend for emotional support. Christian is very obviously outwardly destructive, predatory by nature in the sense that he takes advantage of everybody he is involved with. And regardless of how they felt about each other by the end of it, they did change, but that didn't mean that they changed in the sense that they were perfect beings and entered relationships that were 100% perfect for them even though they acknowledged the end of their recent one. Dani still went into a new relationship with people who were innately predatory, just like Christian. Above anything, I think that the real message is to not view growth in terms of relationships as completing yourself into a finite, perfect being who knows who they are and what they want, but to instead view relationships as consistent growth, and in turn, to be able to have the strength to be able to trim dead branches off of that ever growing tree.

  • PhoeniksoftheStorm
    PhoeniksoftheStorm  1 months ago +73

    There's a line from the trailer that was
    "What time is it?"
    "9 pm"
    "That can'tbe right, the sky is blue"
    "This is just what 9pm is like here"
    And yes 9pm in Sweden summer the sun barely started going down

  • Ante
    Ante  1 months ago +52

    As a Swed I have to say that's the sadest "midsommarkransar" or wreaths I have ever seen...